There are two categories of practice….

Posted by Michele Harney, Yoga Rathgar & Dundrum – Dublin

“There are two categories of practice, the Śikṣaṇa Krama way – according to the rules, or the Cikitsa Krama way – the application or adaptation of a posture to suit a particular person or a particular situation.

– The authority for the postures comes from the teacher, although some rules are indicated in the texts.
– Postures need to be adapted to suit particular bodies and their limitations.
– The action of a posture may be delayed because the student has tried to force the body into a posture.
– Never measure something by its immediate effects.

Yoga is often attributed to Āsana practice alone, which is only the part of Yoga focusing on the physical body or servicing the body.”

Teaching notes from a 6 day retreat with TKV Desikachar in England April 1992
Courtesy – Paul Harvey’s Daily Quotes Page cYs

Return to home page


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.